Skip to content

Preempting Wordless Wednesday: A Post from Puako

February 23, 2010
fish

Evening catch in Puako

As much as I love Wordless Wednesday, I’m sneaking this photo in a little early so I won’t feel guilty about adding commentary!

We’re in Puako this week, on the Kohala coast of the Big Island.  I took this photo just a few minutes after a hazy sunset, as the divers were coming in from the bay with their evening catch.

The diver who caught these–and who was very kind to allow us to take a few photos–told me that these are Manini fish or Surgeonfish. (First link to a student webpage; second to a more comprehensive site with photos of fish and marine life found at Hanauma Bay on Oahu.)

If you’d like to see a few other photos from our days in Puako, I’ve posted a slideshow on flickr, but, unfortunately, my camera was set for night photos for a few days before I realized it.

Hopefully, I’ll get some better shots before we leave Friday.  The goal:  a couple of good whale photos!

In the meantime, aloha from Puako!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

