Skip to content

A Social Media Experiment

March 1, 2010

I assigned myself a Social Media-related task last week, a small project that turned into what I’m viewing as quite an instructive experiment.

My company, Clark Realty Corporation, is a member of LeadingRE, otherwise known as Leading Real Estate Companies of the World, a global relocation/referral network of over 600 firms in 35 countries.

For a while now, I’ve been mulling over the best way to connect with other LeadingRE brokerages who are using Twitter, but as far as I know, there isn’t an existing list (@LeadingRE doesn’t have one, I just checked again to be sure).

Recently, we were notified that our site, clarkhawaii.com, along with several other companies, earned LeadingRE’s new Website Quality Certification designation.  When I saw the WQC page a few days ago, I figured that using those links would be an easy way to get a Twitter list started.

So, last Wednesday I clicked through to each website, figuring most of the sites would make it easy to connect.  Taking a look at the 60+ sites in a short amount of time became an absorbing project.  And the results surprised me.

Here’s what I found:

  • Of the 63 websites, only 21 have a Twitter button on their Home page (some more accessible than others).
  • One site had a graphic, but it wasn’t clickable.
  • A fair number of sites have Facebook icons, but no mention of Twitter.

After clicking through 63 sites, the three that made the most memorable first impression (non-scientific, just based on the fact that I’m still recalling them favorably today) are:

Heritage Texas Properties | Amelia Bullock Realtors | Huff Realty

(Huff Realty stands out because I appreciate the novelty of the photos on their banner!)

If you’d like to check out the LeadingRE list I’ve started, it’s here:

@ClarkRealty’s LeadingRE List

My next experiment:  tracking which of the brokerage Twitter accounts follow back [tempted to insert wink emoticon here].

If you know of a Leading RE Twitter list already out there, please let me know!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

