Skip to content

Misty Morning Walk in Kanehoa

June 10, 2010

A May 13th Public Information Statement from the National Weather Service says this about Hawaii’s current drought conditions:

THE…OCTOBER 2009 THROUGH APRIL 2010 HAWAIIAN ISLANDS WET SEASON…OR HOOILO…RANKS AS THE DRIEST IN THE PAST 30 YEARS AND ONE OF THE DRIEST IN THE PAST 55 YEARS.

The following image tells the story for the Big Island’s Kohala coast, where I spend most of my time these days (quite a change after living in Hilo for five years–where I’ve witnessed days when Hilo rainfall totals have exceeded 10 inches in a 24-hour period):

drought monitor

With this in mind, imagine my surprise when I headed out for a walk today and the early morning mist that I barely noticed as I walked out the door did NOT dissipate as the sun continued to rise over Waimea-Kohala.

Within just a few minutes of leaving the house, the mist turned into a light shower…and by the time I got home,  I was soaked!  Of course, I took a few photos along the way–and I wasn’t the only one who got caught in the rain!  How cute is this little guy?

Photo 1 of 4:

wet puppy

This adorable little guy (girl?) kept me company on the uphill part of my walk through Kanehoa. I thought he was lost, but when we made it to this driveway, he stopped to shake paws and headed home.

Photo 2:

double rainbow

The double rainbow appeared to stretch from Waikoloa all the way over to Kawaihae harbor. I wasn't sure the second one would show up in the photo, but I had to give it a try!

Photo 3:

clark realty sign

This is the only real estate sign still standing on the section of Kawaihae Road where I walk. The others have blown over or blown away. I had to pick up a Clark Realty sign and take it back to the Waimea office a few weeks ago when I found it on the other side of the highway from the listed property!

We currently have a “Red Flag” warning and wind advisory issued for the leeward sections of all islands.  “Strong and gusty trade winds” make conditions “favorable for rapid fire growth today.”

Photo 4:

Waimea hills

This is usually the photo I take to show how clear and beautiful it is on the Kohala coast. The hills were obscured today by a heavy mist, much later into the morning than usual!

Hawaii News Now’s Guy Hagi posted on this on Twitter today:

Don’t let the small splashes fool you, drought continues, mostly dry conditions persist.

So, in spite of today’s shower, we’ll keep hoping for more rain!

If you’re interested in seeing what a few homes in South Kohala’s Kanehoa Subdivision look like, you can view these listings on our clarkhawaii.com website:

62-2204 Ouli St:  Current list price $574,000 – 3 acres, 1,400 sq ft

62-2166 Ouli St:  Current list price $894,500 – 5.43 acres, 2,871 sq ft

62-2145-A Ouli St:  Current list price:  $$1,329,900 – 2.97 acres, 5,500 sq ft

62-2163 Ouli St:  Current list price: $1,750,000 – 3.30 acres, 4,603 sq ft

*Links will be active until escrow contingencies are fulfilled or the listing is withdrawn.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

