Skip to content

Hawaii Five-0 and Twitter: I’m Not “Lost” Anymore!

September 21, 2010

The "new" McGarrett and Danno

Last night, Hawaii residents finally got a look at the new Hawaii Five-0 on CBS!

I posted my “micro-review” of the show on Twitter:  it’s CSI meets Dog the Bounty Hunter meets Baywatch. A little seriousness and a lot of eye candy.

And, yes, I liked it.

But what really made the premiere fun was watching while watching my Twitter timeline.

Instant Reviews

From all around Hawaii, “tweeps” were chiming in with their evaluations of the show. A few were critiquing Daniel Dae Kim’s accent or debating pidgin terms.

A few folks were letting the rest of us know when they recognized a location or an extra in the cast. Many of us who posted during the show were just happy to say we were relieved it wasn’t too cheesy.

My Favorite Hawaii Five-0 Pilot Tweet

Did Scott Caan just call Hawaii a “pineapple-infested hell hole”?? Hilarious! #H50Tue Sep 21 07:24:09 via web

Not “Lost” Anymore

I admit, I was a little envious of the “Lost” fans who dominated my Twitter-stream last season during the shows. “Lost” was loved by many of my Hawaii Twitter ohana, but I never really got into the show.

It’s kind of fun to know, if Hawaii Five-0 can hold on and earn the loyalty of a broad enough audience, that, this year, I can tune in and be a part of the Monday night Twitter conversation…Tweet y’all next Monday night at 9:00pm!

Want to Join #H50 on Twitter?

Here’s what to do:

1. Join Twitter if you haven’t. Go to twitter.com and set up your account. Include a 160 character bio, a photo and your website link (or your blog or a profile page on another site).

2. Get a Twitter client. This is the key to making Twitter useful and fun. On my laptop, I use TweetDeck (only for Twitter–I prefer to ignore the other options).

3. Follow people. Practice Twitter until next Monday.

4. Learn about hashtags. The hashtag for Hawaii Five-0 is #H50.

5. Next week, log on and look for the #H50 hashtag. During commercials, join the conversation. You never know what you might learn.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 6:50 am

    Never did like “Lost” myself. Never got into it and they were always on my turf! (Places I went for peace and reflection were invaded by cameras, lights, and pizza boxes. Annoying thing for them to do on the weekend! Irritated me no end.) Shut down roads, just not my wild places.

    #H50 is a little more considerate about how they step on people’s toes. So far. Cute hashtag! 🙂

    I like the added chuckles. I don’t remember the original being at all laughable so that’s a nice added touch! But, the original was almost before my time and certainly before my interest in watching such things. What the heck is my problem this morning??? “Good morning grouchy!” Tsk, I need happy vitamins or something.

    I’m glad people are watching and getting involved with the show! That’s the best part! 🙂 I like the social-media, people part! I may watch it just so I can watch the Twitter banter at the same time. 🙂 Thanks for sharing that part, Cynthia! Glad it’s off to a good start! Now I want to watch it. See what a good blogger can do? 😉 Thanks for that too, Cynthia!

Leave a Reply

