Skip to content

Hapuna Beach and Kohala Burger & Taco

November 13, 2010
Kohala Burger and Taco Big Island Hawaii

The old sign will change soon

After a morning in the sun at Hapuna Beach, the last thing I wanted to do today was drive up to Waimea for grocery shopping (or, more likely, take-out), so I headed toward Kawaihae Harbor to see what lunch options appealed to me there.

I’d heard that Kohala Pacific Diner had closed, but, for some reason, I decided to stop by anyway, knowing that Kawaihae Seafood Bar or Cafe Pesto were also nearby if I needed choices.

Kohala Burger & Taco

As it turns out, alternatives weren’t necessary. Arriving at the new Kohala Burger & Taco just minutes before their soft opening, I was the first customer at the new restaurant which will be officially opening for lunch sometime next week!

Owner Cary Peterson says that he is planning to start offering the lunch menu first, then add breakfast once operations are running smoothly. (Smart, in my opinion. I’ve seen a few restaurants here on the Big Island fail because of poor planning or overly ambitious ideas of what the local market can handle.) Eventually, Mr. Peterson said, he may offer catering as well.

Today’s menu was simple:  three burger choices. The full menu will be much more varied. Kohala Burger & Taco will be using local grass-fed beef, another point in their favor. My burger, fries and drink cost $8.59 and the portion size was perfect–I never understand why some restaurants only offer burgers big enough for three people.

Mahalo to Cary, Melissa and the Kohala Burger & Taco crew for the great service and a “just-right” after-the-beach lunch! And best wishes for success in your new venture.

Hapuna Beach

Hapuna Beach is the best known white-sand beach on the Big Island of Hawaii. It’s a beautiful long white crescent beach. There are showers and lifeguards and the views, on clear days, are quite stunning. Hapuna is not my favorite Kohala coast beach (I’ll share that one when I get some vog-free photos), but it is the most easily accessible for a Saturday morning in the sun, so it’s usually our destination of choice if we don’t have time for a long drive or a hike.

A few photos from this morning:

Photo 1 of 3:

Hapuna Beach Big Island Hawaii

Look at this little guy fearlessly heading into the water!

Photo 2:

Hapuna Beach Big Island of Hawaii

Not many people on the beach at 10 am. It was filling up when I left.

Photo 3:

Hapuna Beach Kohala coast

Where the fun was really happening

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    November 13, 2010 4:59 pm

    One of my favorite things to do was to take a picnic….breakfast, to Hapuna. Make a quiche the night before and take fruit. Then as the crowds are arriving, you are leaving! I have very fond memories of this once Sunday tradition. Perhaps next week?

  2. November 15, 2010 9:03 am

    Ahh Hapuna beach my favorite. Looks like it was a beautiful day out there! We will also check out the new place when we are in the area! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

