Skip to content

Walk With Me: Ala Ohia Road in Waimea

March 7, 2011

Walking Ala Ohia: Photo 1, taken at the intersection of Ala Ohia and Mamalahoa Highway, was the midpoint of my walk. Photo 2 looks back at where I started, from the intersection of Pukalani Street and Ala Ohia behind Parker Ranch Center. The slideshow unfolds from there.

Ala Ohia Road

One of the things missing in my world after I left Oahu in 2004 was an “out the front door” walk/run route like the 4-mile loop to which I had easy access when I lived on the slopes of Diamond Head in Honolulu. No place I have lived since has offered such perfect logistics for exercise…until now.

As of March 1, my days of commuting each week between Waimea and Hilo are over — and there is one major advantage to my new location that I’m really happy about:  I now have “out the door” access to Waimea’s new Ala Ohia Road/recreational corridor.

Parker Ranch Center to Mamalahoa Hwy

For my first walk this weekend, because I also had errands to do, I made the short drive from my new Waimea home and parked at Parker Ranch Center. I can’t begin to fully describe how beautiful this part of the Big Island is, so please “join” me on my Ala Ohia walk by viewing the slideshow above. I think it will be easy to see why I feel incredibly fortunate to be living where I am now. This is truly an inspiring place. And it’s where I’ve wanted to be for a very long time.

Mauna Kea was obscured by clouds yesterday, but the South Kohala sky was still beautiful. The winds were strong, but just enough to make the walk a little more challenging…I needed the workout, so that was nothing to complain about!

I’m looking forward to making this walk (eventually run?) a regular part of my new life in Waimea. It’s good to officially be an upcountry girl at last!

Luala'i sign

Luala'i sign at Mamalahoa Hwy

About Ala Ohia

If you aren’t familiar with Waimea and Parker Ranch or with the history of the long-anticipated link between Pukalani Road and Mamalahoa Highway, you can learn the background of this roadway in last year’s Hawaii County News post Ala Ohia Road Opens in Waimea.

The two residential subdivisions you can see in the photos are Luala’i at Parker Ranch and Holo Holo Ku.

Please note: The Luala’i video is from 2008, prices are significantly lower now…mid $300s. And, the Holo Holo Ku site is not a Community Association or real estate brokerage website, but it does have great pics.

If you want information about these communities, let me know. I’m biased, but these planned communities are in a pretty incredible location.

CC&Rs not your thing? Let’s discuss.

Want to know more? Read about the Waimea Town Center Plan

No comments yet

Leave a comment